Radio Plays with Lyric FM

Radio Plays with Lyric FMRadio Plays with Lyric FM

Co-production of four new plays with RTE lyric fm

Fishamble and RTE lyric fm have produced four original 28-minute radio plays to coincide with a season of music being broadcast during late 2003/early 2004. Directed by Fishamble’s Jim Culleton and produced by lyric’s Eoin Brady, it is a particularly exciting project as it marks both the first time Fishamble has produced work for radio and the first time RTE lyric fm has ever produced drama.

Director Jim Culleton
Producer Eoin Brady (lyric fm)
Premiere First broadcast on RTE lyric fm on 96-99 fm at 10:00 pm, 24th Dec 2003
Cast Karen Ardiff, Gary Cooke, Brian Cox, Ingrid Craigie, Miche Doherty, Stella Feehily, Peter Hanly, Andrea Irvine, Frank Laverty, Sophie Masterson, Pauline McLynn, Janet Moran, Robert Price, Mal Whyte.

The season of plays was broadcast on RTE lyric fm on 96-99 fm at 10:00 pm from the end of 2003 through to the start of 2004; the schedule for transmission was as follows:

Music 1: Messiah

Composer: Handel

Play 1: Handel’s Crossing

Writer: Joe O’ Connor

Music 2: Benvenuto Cellini

Composer: Berlioz

Play 2: The Medusa

Writer: Gavin Kostick

Music 3: Barber of Seville

Composer: Rossini

Play 3: Chaste Diana

Writer: Michael West

Music 4: Werther

Composer: Massenet

Play 4: Sweet Bitter

Writer: Stella Feehily

Contact Information

Fishamble: The New Play Company
3 Great Denmark Street
Dublin 1
Phone: +353 (0)1 670 4018

Supported By

Fishamble: The New Play Company is supported by The Arts Council, Dublin City Council and Fundraising Fellowship Dublin . Its international touring is supported by Culture Ireland.